Bison basketball sweeps major League awards

Elise Covert, Sports Co-Editor

At the conclusion of regular season play, the Patriot League announces major individual awards and all-league honors. Bison basketball had a strikingly successful year, sweeping individual awards for Player of the Year and Coach of the Year. Nana Foulland ’18 and head coach Nathan Davis represented the Orange and Blue for the men’s team, while Claire DeBoer ’17 and head coach Aaron Roussell took the awards for the women’s team.

Foulland received recognition for Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year, marking his place in the record books as only the second player in league history to earn both awards in the same season. This season, he leads the league with 1.9 blocks per game and ranks in the top 10 in both rebounding and scoring. Foulland also ranks 11th nationally in field goal percentage, shooting 62.7 percentage. Despite the individual successes, team accomplishments remain his first priority.

“It is obviously an honor to be mentioned, but we are not worried about individual awards … we can only be focused on the championship,” Foulland said.

Davis won Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season, making him the second in league history to get the award in his first two seasons in the Patriot League. With over 40 wins with the Bison, he shattered the program record for most victories in the first two seasons as head coach. Davis credits his team for their hard work and reception to his coaching.

“For me, the Coach of the Year award is more of a reflection on the work our players have put in this season.  Their desire to be good and eagerness to sacrifice for one another is the real story,” Davis said.

On the women’s side, DeBoer was unanimously chosen as Player of the Year. As a senior, it brings her collegiate career full circle after winning Rookie of the Year honors in her first season. This season, she is ranked second in the league in scoring with 15.9 points per game and fifth with 7.2 rebounds per game. DeBoer is also the only player in school history to currently rank in the program top ten for points, rebounds, and assists. Her numerous accolades have cemented her place as one of the best players to have ever donned the Orange and Blue. However, DeBoer remains focused on the team goals rather than the individual honors.

“Its a huge honor to have received the accolades, and Im extremely proud of both Kaitlyn and Sune who received well-deserved all-league recognition. With that being said, I think we all agree that nothing would be sweeter than going to the Big Dance, which is definitely our main focus right now. We have been working hard all year for this moment,” DeBoer said.

Coach Roussell received his second straight Coach of the Year award after leading the Orange and Blue to their second consecutive regular season championship, boasting a current overall record of 25-5. Roussell credited his players and coaching staff for their tireless efforts in making this season so successful.

“This award means we had the best team and best staff this season; it has little to do with the efforts of one person. I feel incredibly fortunate to be a part of this group, and not just for their on-court success,” Roussell said. “They work hard, are fantastic role models, and make me laugh; a coach really cant ask for much more.”

Overall, the men’s team placed four players on all-conference teams, and the women placed three. For a complete list of all-League rosters, visit

(Visited 145 times, 1 visits today)