Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society inducts new members

Christina Oddo

News Editor

Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society initiated 165 new members Feb. 26, holding an initiation ceremony in Larison Dining Hall at 5 p.m.

Alpha Lambda Delta has been honoring first-year students in over 250 institutions of higher education for the past 80 years. This national organization recognizes students who have maintained a 3.5 GPA or higher and are in the top 20 percent of their class in their first year of higher education.

According to the Alpha Lambda Delta Facebook page, the organization constitutes a community of over 100,000 recognized students in the United States, and over 700,000 graduates of the society nationwide.

Article II of the Alpha Lambda Delta Constitution states that “the purpose of the society shall be to encourage superior scholastic achievement among students in their first year in institutions of higher education, to promote intelligent living and a continued high standard of learning and to assist women and men in recognizing and developing meaningful goals for their roles in society.”

According to Alpha Lambda Delta’s national website, their motto is “we shall pass our torches on, one to another.”

Provost Mick Smyer was the invited speaker for the ceremony. He spoke to the new members about leadership, as well as the importance of undergraduate education.

After Provost Smyer’s speech and the actual initiation ceremony, when the students signed the chapter roll and officially became members, Dylan & Maverick, a three-piece band from Williamsport, Pa., performed both covers and original songs for the students during dinner. Tyler Bogaczyk ’15 knew the members of the band personally and arranged for the band to come.

“The ceremony and dinner itself were lovely and very nicely planned,” Connor McLaughlin ’16 said. “The food was particularly excellent. It is truly an honor to be a part of this prestigious society here at Bucknell.”

According to Co-President Kathryn Modugno ’14 the dinner was a new idea this year.

“This year’s ceremony was particularly special since it marked our chapter’s 75th anniversary on campus,” Modugno said. “The other officers and I are very excited this year to help Alpha Lambda Delta have a more active presence at Bucknell.”

Chapter officers include Co-Presidents Kristen Ronca ’14 and Modugno, Vice President Rachel Greenberg ’15, Secretary Paden Troxell ’15 and Treasurer Bogaczyk. Lynn Breyfogle, Associate Dean of Arts and Sciences, and Karen T. Marosi, Associate Dean of Engineering, are the Chapter Advisors.

“We are looking forward to working with the new members and helping them become more involved in the Lewisburg community through service projects,” Modugno said.


(Visited 99 times, 1 visits today)